Virtualization – Fedora 11

Hello Folks!

Ok, so apparently, virtualization had a test day yesterday for Fedora 11. Good, and it’s change a lot I presume, so today, I’m having my own little test day!

As Fedora 10 is currently my primary OS, I have Fedora Rawhide installed on a secondary HDD, this is so I can test the new features of Fedora prior to it’s release, it helps me know what’s changing, when and how it will effect me.

One issue I will have is that VMware Workstation 6.5.2 does not work on Kernel 2.6.29. Which of course, Fedora 10 will also have soon, which is a pain in the butt. There are patches for it, but I do not want to have to patch it on each kernel update. I don’t mind building modules on each update, but patching them is something I don’t want to have to do.

Which brings me to virt-manager which is a built in virtual machine manager on Fedora. You may or may not know, I like to have virtual machines handy, it’s great when I do not have a spare machine to test things on, but when I won’t be able to use VMware properly, it’s really quite annoying. So this feature built into Fedora may, may, become my primary virtual machine manager, replacing VMware. That is, if it can stand up to my expectations and requirements.

I’ve previously tried VirtualBox, created by Sun, the “OSE” and the non-ose edition, I didn’t like it I’m afraid. And previously virt-manager has not done the job properly for me.

So, today I will be taking this thing for a test run, to see if it can really do what I want.


So! enough chit chat, lets get started. I will be testing it with Linux Mint RC1.

Starting out, it looks like this..

Virtual Machine Manager on Fedora 11

Looks to be fairly simple šŸ™‚ first thing I’m going to do is connect it to localhost.

Which was successful, and is now active šŸ™‚

So lets create a new one

Screenshot-New VM

This really does seem to look a lot better than it did the last time I saw it šŸ™‚

So after you gone through all options you get this:

Right, lets see how this installs, and how it looks šŸ™‚

Hmm, seemingly after getting past usplash it appears to be frozen. Although the CPU and everything is still going, it seems to be taking unusually longer to start up the installer only on Mint.

Which if it isn’t frozen this “extra” waiting, is just more of an inconvenience.

Hmm, well that didn’t work out to well, so am now trying CentOS 5.3. This one seems to be working so far šŸ™‚

But this seems to running abnormally slow. I have never seen a virtual machines installer (Anaconda) in this case take so long it’s been a minute and hasn’t even finished loading the GUI yet, by now in VMware this would be done.

Aha! At last, the GUI is loaded!

So! Installed, took about… 5 hours? Not bad. Not bad. But that is incredibly slow compared to VMware.

So at last I have this!

So, now I need to see if it’s due to a bad HDD for slowness, or due to the application.. is just slow.

Well, that didn’t go too well! upon rebooting..

Traceback (most recent call last):
File “/usr/share/virt-manager/virtManager/engine.py”, line 493, in run_domain
vm.startup()
File “/usr/share/virt-manager/virtManager/domain.py”, line 573, in startup
self.vm.create()
File “/usr/lib64/python2.6/site-packages/libvirt.py”, line 287, in create
if ret == -1: raise libvirtError (‘virDomainCreate() failed’, dom=self)
libvirtError: internal error Domain other didn’t show up

Not exactly what I wanted it to do xD.

And now, I cannot get it to run, even after restarting the libvirt service šŸ˜¦

Well not much more I can do really.

But I can say this, I think it’s on the road to improvement, however still needs just a um, bit more improvment to make me switch šŸ™‚

I’ll update this more, if I get it working šŸ™‚

Comments are closed.

